Third 50 Mile Month of 2015

IMG_0883

In 2014 I had one 50 mile month. Just one. I got close a few times with a 42 and 45 mile month. But overall just 1 for 2014.

As of the end of June I now have 3 for the year and we are only 6 months into the year. That means I tripled the amount of 50 mile running months from last year in just half the year.

Being connected with so many runners on social media I know 50 miles in a month doesn’t sound like much. Heck I see a lot of people talking about running 2,015 miles in 2015. That would be an average of 168 miles per month for every month of the year. Makes my three 50 miles month look like child’s play.

But compared to my own accomplishments so far 2015 is blowing 2014 out of the water. And rightfully so because 2015 is a major step up in my running career by training for the Chicago Marathon.

B4YR5gUCYAAqgE9

At the same time I am slowly getting out of a running funk so I am happy I was able to get my 3rd 50 mile month in. Truth be told I was 1.2 miles away from 50 as of 10:30 PM on the last night of June. I had already ran 5 miles that day and was just finishing up from an hour of #BibChat. I decided that I had to get that final 1.2 miles in to get me to 50 before the clock stuck midnight. Since my apartment complex has a 24 hour gym I was able to get in there and finish the job.

11698586_938763763285_9059182216521933691_n

Looking back this will help motivate myself moving forward. I have written before how running is just as much mental as it is physical. By getting my 3rd 50 mile month in for 2015 I am mentally preparing myself to get out of that funk and continue Chicago Marathon training.

So here’s looking at you July…….

Leave a Reply

