Funk

Lately I’ve been in a bit of a funk. I guess this is expected when you embark on a 6 month training plan. I can’t pinpoint the reason but I’ve been devoid of energy. I get home from work and just don’t have it in me to go back out there. The one good thing I can take solace in is that during this funk I ran my 4th Half Marathon. So I’m at least getting out there.

My first choice is to begin to look for some medical assistance on the issue. On a podcast I frequently listen to the company Onit advertises their energy pills called shroom tech sport. Not only does it provide an energy boost but it also helps in endurance for running. So it will be a double win. Plus it’s safe for athletic performance.

So there’s one route.

However I also feel the need to switch some things up. Honestly my running is very much done alone. I never have been a part of a running group or run with friends. The only time I run with others is during races. So I think it’s time for me to get out there in a fitness related community. Running alone for so long can tend to get boring and become mundane. I probably won’t join a running club right away, but I do want to get into so,e sort of group activity.

I always hear great things about November Project. They have groups all across the world. I’d love to join the Philly workouts, however they are about 45 minutes from me and another half hour from my work. With them starting so early in the morning it may be tough starting out. I still would like to try them out but probably not right now.


When I was training for my first half marathon I found spin classes helped me out. It was a great community to belong to and was a great workout to prep for the race I was training for. So I think that’s my route for right now. There’s a few studios on my way to work so luckily my options look a lot better than November Project for right now. So here’s hoping getting back into group fitness breaks this marathon training funk.

2 thoughts on “Funk

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award + Get To Know Me | Running for the Average Joe

  2. Pingback: Third 50 Mile Month of 2015 | Running for the Average Joe

Leave a Reply

