2015: The Year of My Running Mental Shift

As I look at my running schedule for this year I realize a shift in how I view running. When I put my feet to the pavement for the first time in 2013 I was so nervous to run a 5K. So much so that I would even find a training plan for them. As I look back after running a triathlon, Spartan Race, Duathlon, Multiple Half Marathons, 10 Milers, etc. I realize how funny that sounds. However as I think about that, I also am reminded of a quote (pictured below). You don’t get better at something without having to walk before you crawl.

Untitled

So as I look out to 2015 I realize the shift in my mental approach to running. Last year I would sign up for at minimum one 5K per month. I would do that to make sure I was always training for something. I never wanted to get stagnate and stop running. And it was a lot of fun because I got to experience a lot more runs and expand my running community.

However, as I look at 2015 my first two registered runs of the year are 5 milers. In fact, as I look well into the year I do not have a 5K on my schedule. And that is where the mental shift occurs. The runs I want to complete are longer distances (10K’s, 15K’s and 5 and 10 Miler’s). As far as organized running goes I would like for 5K’s to be kept back in 2014. This is not because I think I am better than the 5K distance by any means, but for me I feel like I can go out and run 3.1 miles on the treadmill at the gym or around the neighborhood. I would rather run longer distances during my organized races.

This very well could be due to the fact that I plan on running a full marathon at the end of the year, who knows. But either way I can’t see myself running many official 5K’s this year.

That is what this blog has always been about: How running changes me not only physically but mentally as well. It was just 19 months ago that I had a 5K training schedule. And here I am treating that distance as a way to keep up with running versus being the ultimate goal.

For as many diffrerent runs that I have ran, I am still very much a novice at this. I am only in my 2nd full year of running. And this is a pretty decent mental shift for me moving forward. So 2015 will be known as the year I become a long(er) distance runner than in the past.

Leave a Reply

