This Years Back To Back Training Plans

In 2014 I ran a few different race types that I had to have multiple training plans for. One for a triathlon, one for a half marathon and one for a Spartan Race. I don’t know if a doctor would support this but I essentially took 3 different training plans and Frankensteined them to make one plan. I essentially had one long training plan that lasted from February to October.

A little background on me, if I do not have a training plan I feel lost. If there isn’t something on my fridge telling me what today’s goal is I am like a lost child in a candy store. I am actually going through it currently. I don’t have a run to train for right now and I feel like I am a ship lost at sea just floating around aimlessly. I do have a 5 mile race next month so I am still in the gym and running, but it feels sporadic at best.

As I have blogged before 2015’s goal is a Full Marathon. I entered the NYC Marathon lottery so wont know for another month if I am in. But I do know whatever one I run it won’t be until late fall (Oct./Nov). And I picked out a 25 week training plan so training wouldn’t start until around May. So here I am a bag floating in the wind until May. I just don’t think I can do it. Am I becoming the type of person obsessed with running? I don’t think that is it. I think I am just afraid of getting out of my routine and not being ready to start the training plan. I know it sounds ridiculous, but it is how my mind works.

So that brings me to how I am once again Frankensteining a few training plans in 2015. In April of this year I am running the Hot Chocolate 15K and one month later will be running the Broad Street 10 Mile Run. I am confident I can keep this “bag in the wind” mentality without a plan and complete those races but I have decided not to do that.

So I have gone back to the well and dusted off my 8 Week Half Marathon training plan. Only this time I have expanded it to 13 weeks. I essentially took the last 5 weeks of the plan and tacked it on to expand it to 13 weeks. So here are my plans for 2015. Starting on February 2nd I will begin a plan that takes me to the 15K and 10 Mile runs in April and May. And after the 10 Mile Run I will begin my Full Marathon Training plan. So I am looking at being on a training plan from February 2nd to November 1st.

I need structure, what can I say?

1

Training Plan #1. Starts Feb. 2nd

2

Training Plan #2. Starts May 11th

2 thoughts on “This Years Back To Back Training Plans

  1. I’m not going to add up the weekly mileage for all those rows, but be sure to give yourself plenty of unloading weeks as well. I generally do every 3rd or 4th week at about 75% volume. Taking a week of even lower volume before starting the marathon plan is a good idea too, I never like to go more than 4 months without a good solid week of super low volume, usually after a goal race.

    • Thanks for the advice! I have always listened to my body and taken off when I felt it was appropriate. I have never done this many miles before so I will be taking it with some caution.

Leave a Reply

