Let The Treadmill Be Your Friend

So tonight was the first night I ran on a treadmill in probably over a year.

I started this full time journey about a year ago. And at that time I had my fair share of treadmill war stories. When I was casually running. Scratch that. Barely running. I would always run on a treadmill. And then when I got out on the road it was always such a different feeling. The hard asphalt, the random inclines, the weather; it all made for such a harder run.

So when I decided to embark on this running adventure I told myself “no treadmills”. If I was going to do this I was going to know what the roads felt like. “That which does not kill us,” right? Regardless of the weather I have always stuck to the outside. I’ve run in 12 inches of snow and lighting storms where it was down pouring. I knew if I could do that than these runs in 80 degree weather would be a breeze.

However lately I’ve felt like I hit a wall with my running. I judge my time specifically by 5K’s. Anything longer I am happy I finished. But for 5K’s I really want to break a specific time. Specifically that time being a full 5K under 30 minutes. My fastest to date has been 31:30. And I just can’t seem to get under that. I guess I have issues with speed on the road.

So tonight I decided to jump on the treadmill for the first time in forever. I thought that if the ground was moving underneath me then I had no choice but to finish at a specific time. And it paid off. I didn’t get under my goal of 30 minutes, but I did run my fastest 5K to date. I ran in 30:28. Just a mere 29 seconds away from my goal. And this was just my first time, so I know with enough work at it I will hit the goal in no time.

The best part of it was that it really was one of the hardest workouts I have done so far. To say I left it all out there is accurate. I hit exhausted by the 1.25 mile mark. I ended at “I hope someone here knows CPR” level. Immediately getting off the treadmill I fell to the ground.

The 30 minute mark for most people may seem like a walk in the park, but for me it’s a major goal. And this has been what it is all about: achieving goals.

So now I have started to come around on the treadmill. I won’t spend all of my runs on it, but the two of us will definitely get more acquainted. Mixing it into my training plan to help me get a little faster will train my legs how they need to be moving when race days come around.

20140424-221509.jpg

4 thoughts on “Let The Treadmill Be Your Friend

  1. Pingback: My Love/ Hate Treadmill Bell Curve | Running for the Average Joe

Leave a Reply

