Moving Onto 2017…..

It seems more than ever this year, I am seeing people on social media excited to put 2016 behind them. Maybe it is because it is the end of the year and that is normal, but I do not recall a time in my life where so many people were excited to move onto a new year. I myself have never been that type…..until now. I wrote recently how 2016 was my worst running year ever, so you can put me in the group that looks forward to saying goodbye to 2016.

Now that brings me onto 2017.

I am looking forward to what 2017 will bring in my running journey. I have recently been working towards my goal of 50 Half Marathons in 50 States and 2017 will allow me to dive right into that. As it currently stands, if all goes according to plan, I will be checking Oregon, New Jersey and Vermont off the list. There may be some others within that timeframe but as of right now those 3 are all booked.

Usually when I write about the upcoming running year I like to look at goals. So I will break down three of my goals for this upcoming year.

Run a 5K Per Day in January

Jumping right out of the gate, goal number 1 will be to complete a 5K every day for the month of January. As I wrote in my 2016 running recap the second half of 2016 did not go as planned and my running fell off. To get back on the wagon in the New Year I thought I could do something that would test me physically and be a great accomplishment to kick off the year but also be attainable. Luckily I have been running long enough that I can run a 5K with no issue. If I do not train properly it may not be my best 5K, but there is no fear of not finishing. So I will take that mentality and build consistency on that. By the time I complete this goal I will get to 96.1 miles for the month. If I add in 3.9 miles during that month I will hit 100 miles for January. To date I have only ever hit 100 miles in one month once in my lifetime. This will open 2017 with a bang!

Add (at least) 3 More States

With Oregon, New Jersey and Vermont being booked my goal will be of course to complete those races adding 3 more states to my 50 Half/ 50 States Goal. Since 2016 was also my first experience at a DNS this goal is not set in stone. You can’t just assume because they are booked that the races will happen. So I will work all year towards making sure I complete these races. Ideally I would like to check off 2 more states in 2017. For right now my goal will be at least 3 more states but I am hoping this number gets to as high as 5 states for 2017.

Compete a Duathlon (For Time)

In 2017 I have signed up for my second ever Duathlon. I ran my first back in 2015 and really enjoyed it. So much so that later that year I ran my first ever Triathlon. In 2017 I will get back into the Duathlon scene. However unlike every goal race I have had this will not be all about completion. Even though my running dropped off in the second half of 2016 I could run a Duathlon right now if I needed to. So it is not good enough to just complete the race, I’d like to specifically focus on time. This will be the first time I am pushing myself beyond “just finishing”. For this Duathlon it is a 2 mile run, 12 mile bike, 5K run. I would like my second run, the 5K, to be under 30 minutes. In my life I have only finished under 30 minutes in a 5K a handful of times, so this is not a time that is very common to me. And those were times that the 5K was the only activity I was doing. So for the 2017 Duathlon it will be quite pressing to run the first run then the bike race only to get back out on the road again and beat a time I haven’t beaten much without a run and bike race in front of it. Speed work has never been a part of my running vernacular so this will be something that is new to me.

So there you have it. 2017 goals are set in place. 2016 is a year that I look forward to putting behind me. While there were a lot of highlights from 2016, it also came with it’s fair share of lowlights as well. However 2017 is a new year and will be only my 4th full year as a runner. I am looking forward to what awaits me on the other side.

1

Leave a Reply

