Join Me At The Philly Hot Chocolate 15K

Four years ago I was looking for any and every race I could run in Philly (it was my first year as a runner). Unbeknownst to me I ended up running the first ever Hot Chocolate 5K/15K in Philadelphia. Fast forward to 2017 and I will be running my 4th consecutive Hot Chocolate Philadelphia race, making this the only race I have ever run where I have been a participant every year they hosted the race.

I bring this up because there is a reason this race keeps bringing me back; because it is a must run race for the city of Philadelphia! Let’s forget the fact that it is chocolate themed for a second (which we will get back to) but the swag in this race is second to none. Forget the standard race shirt. Every year runners get a jacket with the race logo on it. A jacket that is made to last and one that you will wear over and over again. Here are some of the ones I have collected through the years:

1

Much better than just a race shirt, huh?

Now back to that chocolate theme. If you are a chocoholic this is a race you must run. The race has plenty of aid stations to push you to the finish line. However beyond just the normal water you receive at most stations you will also get (you guessed it) chocolate! Runners are awarded with chocolate squares as they pass the aid stations, so even if you don’t need that water, stop anyways!

Once you finish, runners are once again rewarded with more chocolate! After all we do need to recover right?  Each runner receives a plastic fondu mug with chocolate in the center and things like bananas, pretzels and marshmallows on the side to dip!

Even the finisher medal is a chocolate bar! (Note, this is for the 15K only)

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 8.56.46 AM.png

And of course, the folks at BibRave (who you’ll see me there running on behalf of) have you covered for this race. Sign up for the race and use the Code “BRPhillyHC” and you will get a free visor!

1.jpg

Sounds exciting, right? So save the date for Saturday April 1st and join me (and thousands others) for this chocolate running adventure.

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 8.50.55 AM.png

Leave a Reply

