If I’m Honest: Marathon #2

In honor of Blake Shelton releasing his new album “If I’m Honest” (yes I love me some country music) I think it’s time I am a little honest about my upcoming second marathon. This weekend I will be competing in the Buffalo Marathon, just my 2nd full marathon after completing Chicago last October.

If I’m Honest: I don’t know if I’m ready. It’s not normal pre race jitters that I am feeling. It’s more like “holy crap I definitely undertrained for this race”. Sadly the fire that burned within me for my first marathon was more like a dim light during Buffalo Marathon training. I prepared a training schedule as I do with most my big races. Unfortunately I didn’t stick to it much.

Now don’t get me wrong, I didn’t just sit around on the coach all winter/ spring. In the last month I completed a 10 miler, half marathon and 15K race. Unfortunately these races were the majority of the running I did. There were no double digit mileage weekday runs that took me well into the night like there were with Chicago. There were no grueling 20+ mile long runs like I did last summer. Instead those were replaced with constant thoughts of “I’ll get my long runs in with enough time, no worries”. Well here we are 5 days before the big race and worrying is here.

Chadd Balbi

Finishing the Broad Street Run 10 Miler

 

Another positive for me is that I have recently introduced Crossfit into my life. I have been going for the last month, so while I may not have been running as much I at least wasn’t sitting around doing nothing. And the one thing I have enjoyed the most about Crossfit is how much it has pushed me physically. An attribute that I know will help me during those 26.2 miles.

All said and done I have logged 159 miles for the year. Compare that to the same time leading up to Chicago last year and I logged 289 miles. A difference of 130 miles of training in a 5 month period.

I remember after Chicago last year thinking “wow I never want to do that again”. Which was a scary thought because I signed up for Buffalo before I finished Chicago. So even though I had those feelings about a marathon run, I knew it wouldn’t be my last one. I think the marathon distance is my glass ceiling with running. I respect those that enjoy 26.2 miles, I just don’t think it is for me. I can’t explain any other reason for my lack of interest in training.

Regardless of this I will still push forward. My fiancé asks me on a regular basis if I am prepared for this run. She has seen the lack of training and she is concerned. However I am not. Every time it comes up in conversation I talk with the kind of confidence I would have if this was my 20th marathon. Maybe that’s a good thing. They say running is just as much physical as it is mental. So while the physical part may not be completely ready for this race, mentally I am as strong as ever.

So here I am just a few days away from beginning marathon #2. I’m headed up north and fully believe that I am coming home with a medal. As a BibRave Pro I have made a commitment to run this race, and that is exactly what I am going to do. There’s no turning back now and I cannot wait!

One thought on “If I’m Honest: Marathon #2

  1. Happens to the best of us. I’ve been battling minor yet annoying injuries–battling them wisely, I mean, by being a total baby and not pushing it–and the last one just pushed me over the top. But before the injuries I wasn’t feeling the training. Not sure why. I did, however, make an effort to train the back line of my body more, which has helped a lot (and probably kept these injuries from being much, much worse).

    See you out there?

Leave a Reply

