My First 100 Mile Running Month!

At the start of 2015 I set 3 running goals for the year. I only set 3 because I knew the majority of the goals would take most of the year to accomplish. The 3 goals are to run a full marathon, run 100 miles in one month and volunteer at a race.

As of yesterday goal #1 has been checked off the list! September was a very busy month as it was the first time I ran 100 miles in one month. My previous high for one month was the month before where I ran 72 miles. As I have written before, in 2014 I ran over 50 miles for the month just ONCE. In 2015 I officially have gotten over the 50 mile mark 6 out of the 8 months so far! So for someone who doesn’t go over 50 miles monthly often a 100 mile month is a big deal.

It definitely was a memorable journey to get to the 100 mile mark. There were nights I had no interest in running but still got out there for a 10K run or even further! In fact one night during the week I ran a faster 10K on a training run after work than I did at an official 10K race the month prior. During the month there was also two 20+ mile runs. Runs that were so far I thought I wasn’t going to make it to the end. There were also a lot of dark and lonely nights on the trails. So dark some nights that I had to turn my flashlight on during my run just to see 2 feet in front of me. There were also the runs that I did in Dallas and Boston while I was away traveling. So to say the month to 100 miles was a journey is putting it lightly.

For someone who runs solo, the path to a marathon can be long and lonely

For someone who runs solo, the path to a marathon can be long and lonely

So far 2015 is shaping up to be my best running year ever. Along with the first time ever running 100 miles in a month it is also the first time I have ever run beyond the half marathon mark and will be the year I run my first marathon. Needless to say this year will be hard to beat as I continue my running journey.

Just 10 days away from checking off goal #2 at the Chicago Marathon!

IMG_1704

4 thoughts on “My First 100 Mile Running Month!

Leave a Reply

