Fitness Week in Review: 8/10 – 8/16

A few weeks ago I was writing about how I needed to ramp up training for Chicago Marathon. Last week, outside of a missed long run, I felt pretty good about my training week. This week I can really say everything went as planned. I swapped a few days of rest and activity, but at the end of the week I had 5 out of 7 days worth of activity and a completed long run. And at the same time I technically got 2 long runs in for the week to make up for my missed one last week. I am starting to come into the swing of things.

My activity for the week:

Monday: 9.35 Mile Run

Tuesday: 45 Minute Gym Session (30 min elliptical, 15 min weight lifting)

Wednesday: 60 Minute Spin Class

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 3 Mile Run

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: 7.51 Mile Run

In total I had close to 20 miles worth of running. Which puts me on track for my 70 mile goal for the month. I think the most I have ever run in one month has been around 63 miles, so I am still on track to have my most active month of my short 2 year running career.

The week had a lot of highlights. The first was the Monday long run. As I mentioned I missed my long run for the week prior so I decided to lace up the shoes on Monday and get it in. I wanted to get in 10 miles but had to cut it short by half a mile because the park I was in was about to close. And as a result my car would have been locked in the parking lot. I am all for completing a goal, but I will sacrifice half a mile of running if it means I don’t have to spend the night in my car. It was my first time running the Schuylkill River Trail and it was a beautiful trail to run on. I’ll be posting a review in the near future.

trail

I felt a trail vs traditional running joke when I got to this point

trail 2

An amazing start to the trail

I also spent that run in my new SLS3 compression socks. I have recently determined that the ProCompression socks I used to run in were not for me. This company, SLS3, gave me a free pair to test out and review on my other blog. They were awesome to run in and a great alternative to ProCompression. Check out my review here.

socks

This week was also my 3rd week at the Spin Studiospin I recently signed up for and my 3rd class overall at the studio. After my Wednesday class the teacher gave me an article for water consumption during Marathon training. It turns out the owner of the studio printed it out for me. I thought this was really awesome for a number of reasons. The first being that I only met the owner once and she went out of her way to do this for me. That means a lot. The second being I try to read as much as I can on Marathon training so this helps me a lot. It’s actions like these that make the fitness community so awesome.

article

My first official beach vacation of the summer happened this weekend as well. I have had a very busy summer so my weekends haven’t been free enough to take a vacation. This weekend was the first one without any plans so I headed down to Ocean City, MD. I left Friday morning around 9:00 AM. This allowed me just enough time to get to my gym and get a 3 mile run in. It’s funny how when I am off from work I am open to running in the morning even though I still have to be up early. I liked it though because it got my run in first thing and the rest of the day was mine to relax.

3 miles

The week ended with my typical Sunday long run. As I mentioned above I had spent all weekend down in Ocean City, MD for vacation so I was afraid the Sunday long run wouldn’t happen again. I ended up getting home at 1:00 in the afternoon and wanted to wait a bit for my run. I ran recently in the afternoon and during that time the weather is always so hot. So I decided to wait until the evening to run. Honestly as the hours kept passing by I didn’t think it would happen. Finally at 8:00 I laced up my shoes and got out there.

Prior to the run I was putting on my hydration vest. And as usual it started leaking really bad. You can see what ended up happening to it after that. I will post a review soon on why I can’t stand the vest and how it found it’s final resting place.

Hydr.

I wanted to run a little more than the 7.5 miles I ran, but it was getting really dark and it was my first time running this route. The streets had no sidewalks and cars were flashing by. Needless to say it was not the smartest idea to be running late at night on busy roads I wasn’t familiar with. So I made a quick right and cut the run down short by a little less than a mile. I was very happy with myself because as I mentioned I was nervous the run wouldn’t happen. But I took myself out of my comfort zone and got out there.

476

Ran over I-476. The main turnpike in Eastern PA. So late at night all you could see was headlights

So that was my week. My first truly successful Chicago Marathon training week now that the long runs are getting longer. Only 54 more days…..

Leave a Reply

