Fitness Week in Review: 8/3 – 8/9

Last week I wrote about how I need to kick my butt into gear for Chicago Marathon training. My activity for the entire week was just 7.2 running miles and 2 hours of softball. Hardly a quality week of training for someone preparing for their first marathon that is 2 months away.

Luckily I can say this week was much better. Truthfully 6 out of the 7 days this past week went as/ better than expected. However the 7th did not. Normally I wouldn’t kill myself for missing 1 day but that happened to be my long run day. 14 miles to be exact. More miles than I had ever run at one time in my life. More on that after the weekly breakdown:

Monday: 30 Minute Elliptical

Tuesday: 5.1 mile run

Wednesday: 60 Minute Spin Class

Thursday: 3.4 Mile Run

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 60 Minute Spin Class + 1.5 Mile Run

Sunday: 2.5 Hours of Golf

Like I said, a very active week. 10 total miles of running, 2 hours of spinning and 6 out of the 7 days went as planned. However the missed day, as I said above, was my planned 14 mile long run.

IMG_1200

Running in Historic North Wales, PA

First lets get the excuses out of the way: Saturday night I went to a midnight comedy show and wasn’t home until 3:00 AM. Then Sunday morning I was up at 7:30 AM (4.5 hours of sleep) to get to an 8:30 golf tee time that lasted 2 and a half hours. So needless to say by the time I got home from golf I was dead tired.

However those are excuses and I need to plan better. I was excited for the 14 mile run because it was going to be my longest run to date at one time. It was a bit of a threshold for me. However it didn’t happen. As the runs get longer I need to start planning my weekends accordingly. If I think golf on no sleep will interrupt these long runs I need to say no when I am invited. Or still go and just suck it up and run. Either way I need to plan better.

As always I won’t get down on myself, just acknowledge my shortcomings and be better. So this week I am going to try and get a long run in on Monday. 14 miles may be asking a lot because of timing. Unfortunately I am not a world class athlete so 14 miles may take anywhere from 2.5 – 3 hours. With my work schedule that may be hard to fit in to the day. Either way I am going to give it my best shot.

Not to be lost in the week was the first spin class I took at a new studio in the area. I enjoyed it so much that I bought a 5 class pass and all those 5 classes are scheduled already.

IMG_1209

My girlfriend decided to come with me for my 2nd class. The owner of the studio hosted that class and it was a great time. Plus we probably wouldn’t have even been up that early on a normal Saturday, so it was good to burn a bunch of calories that early in the morning.

CL4-ZoLVAAAqnf5

I also got in a round of golf which is always a lot of fun. For those golfers out there I was this close to my first birdie of the year. Completely pushed it to the right. For those non-golfers; this sucks!
IMG_1240

Only 61 more days until the big day….

Leave a Reply

