Fitness Week in Review: 7/27 – 8/2

This is week ????? in my Chicago Marathon training. Honestly I feel like I have been training so long that I’ve lost count of the week number. I think its somewhere around week 14. This week was definitely an eye opener for me in the sense that I need to really start getting my ass in gear. I was not nearly as active as I should have been and need to change that.

My activity for the week:

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 5 Mile Run

Friday: 2.2 Mile Run

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: 2 Hours of Softball

Running wise I only had 7.2 miles of running. Outside of that my other activity was 2 hours of softball. Like I said above I need to kick my butt into running gear if I am going to finish the next 3 months strong. What was worse about this week was I missed my long run. I don’t beat myself up too much if I miss a run in the week, but I am really trying to stick to my long runs especially as they are getting over the double digit mark. This week I have a 14 mile long run that I refuse to miss!

I am realizing that I need to plan accordingly for long runs. I went out Saturday night and as a result I was pretty lazy on Sunday up until I had softball at 2:00 in the afternoon. Training for a marathon has been a lot different than anything else I have trained for in the sense that I have to plan my weekends around training. So this week I am focusing more on this.

The week wasn’t all doom and gloom. The beginning of the week started with a running product overload. I received 3 packages in the mail on Monday; my ProCompression Grab Bag, a pair of SLS3 Compression socks and finally my OAR Chicago Marathon Package! Needless to say I was in running gear overload. And I was very happy to get the OAR package because it means the Chicago Marathon is so close.

CK9DErSWsAABpeE

While I didn’t do as much running as I would have liked this week, not to be lost is the fact that I went over 60 miles of running for the month. The last time I ran 60+ miles in one month was June 2014. So I can be happy that I had a very productive month even if this week wasn’t that great.

CLQ3-neUEAAMR8I

This past week had its ups and downs it is now time to look forward. I have 24 miles scheduled to run this upcoming week and it is time to get those done!

Only 67 days until the big day!

CLFZ-gNUYAAxRqY

As always thank you Zensah for providing recovery during the week!

1

Softball for the week

Leave a Reply

