Chicgao Marathon Training with Sweat Tracker

CJePVI9WEAAHJ0z

Disclaimer: I received a free Sweat Tracker plan to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

As I noted above I am a part of the BibRave Pro program. It is an ambassador program for BibRave. I recommend you check them and the program out, it is a lot of fun (and you get free stuff!).

As a part of this program I have been given the chance to try out Sweat Tracker in preparation for the Chicago Marathon, my first full marathon. First let me tell you a little more about Sweat Tracker.

Sweat Tracker is an online coaching and training program for runners of all levels. They’ve helped hundreds of runners train for their first 5K or half marathon, and even qualify for Boston! They have a team of coaches that work with you to improve performance and help avoid injury. You work with a coach on a one on one basis through email and text messages. The coach provides motivation and expert guidance to make sure you meet your goals. Their team analyzes your progress periodically and adjusts your plan as needed. You can register for a Sweat Tracker plan here.

I am working with Coach Chris on my plan to the Chicago Marathon. I am in the first week of my plan and so far it looks like this:

Monday: Rest
Tuesday: Easy Run: 45 minutes (12:00)
Wednesday: Rest/Stretch & Roll
Thursday: Interval Run: 30 mins
Friday: Rest/Stretch & Roll
Saturday: Easy Run: 90 minutes (12:00)
Sunday: Easy Run: 30 minutes (12:00)

I’m excited to see how this goes, because this is different than what I am used to. In all of my previous training plans I never really had “professional help”. I would find a plan off the internet and go for it. And they were always the same; a mix of running and cross training throughout the week. This plan is a lot different in the sense that, so far what I can tell, it isn’t focusing on distance you are running as much as it is time during those runs. Clearly I care about time but it has never been a focus of mine during my training plan. Along with this, the plan also makes me accountable for my runs. It is one thing if I skip a run and I am the only one who knows. It’s another if I skip a run and have to report this to my coach.

Periodically I will update my progress on my blog as well as experience with Sweat Tracker. I am excited to try something new and get out of my comfort zone a little bit. Which is good considering I am taking a huge step in running by attacking 26.2 miles.

BoA_chicagomar_h_rgb

2 thoughts on “Chicgao Marathon Training with Sweat Tracker

  1. I’ll be excited to read more about how this goes! I wanted to sign up, but my summer and fall are crazy, and I didn’t really have a race to train for.

Leave a Reply

