Recipe: Muffin Tin Omelets

Untitled

Recently I was turned on to Muffin Tin Omelets. I don’t know if that is the official name for them, but it works for me. Essentially it is an egg omelet shrunken down into the shape of a muffin. The beauty of this is you make these the same way you would make an omelet. My recipe below is specific to my tastes, but you can put just about any filling you want in them.They allow you to plan out your weekly menus ahead of time and provide you with a quick, but healthy breakfast, on the go.

I used to cook breakfast the night before on a daily basis. I would whip together a few eggs in a pan and get them ready for the next day. It wasn’t too time consuming, maybe about 10- 15 minutes per night. But multiply that by 5 days and it added up. And some nights it would be so late that I was too tired and it wouldn’t get done.

By doing this I am saving myself a lot of time as it only takes about 30 minutes once a week and they are ready to go every morning.

Ingredients:

  • 12 Egg Whites, 3 Egg Yolks
  • 4 Jimmy Deans Pre Cooked Turkey Sausage Patties
  • 2- 3 Cups of Broccoli or Peppers and Onions (any filling you want)

Utensils Needed:

  • Mixing Bowl
  • Whisk
  • Muffin Tin
  • Measuring Cup (personal preference only)
  • Tin Foil
  • Fork

Directions:

Untitled

  • Chop filling (broccoli or peppers and onions) into small pieces. Combine with eggs

4

5

  • Spray muffin tin tray with a non stick spray
  • Cut Sausage into small pieces. Sprinkle evenly into the bottom of the muffin tins

7

  • Pour egg and vegetable mixture into measuring cup. I do this so it is easier to pour into the muffin tins.

6

  • Pour egg/ vegetable mix evenly throughout muffin tins filled with sausage

8

  • Mix each muffin tin with a fork to combine sausage and vegetables evenly
  • Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for about 12-15 minutes. (Test with a toothpick the same way you would a cake)

9

And there you have it. In about 30 minutes you have a weeks worth of breakfast that is healthy and ready to go. I usually will pack 2 per day for breakfast, but depending on your choices you can pack more or less. I will package in tin foil for storage and then transfer to a plastic container the day I bring them to work with me. Enjoy!

10

11

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Muffin Tin Omelets

  1. Pingback: My Weekly Meal Prep | Running for the Average Joe

Leave a Reply

