My Awful Running Week

At the end of every week I will typically post a fitness recap. It usually covers my nutrition and exercise for the week. I do it really to keep myself honest and on track as I continue training for my first full marathon. Unfortunately this week there wasn’t much to report. I think in total I did about 30 minutes on the elliptical on Monday and ran a 5K on Tuesday. Really that was it. I did a little better with nutrition. However on Thursday night I had a food “breakdown” as I went away from my normal fish and vegetable dinner. I forget exactly what I ate but I know it consisted of pita bread with butter, tortilla chips and a few other snacks. Not the worst thing for me, but I am trying to keep strict with my nutrition to lose some weight.

The good news is I am down about 6 pounds total in the last few weeks. That is due to all the work I have been doing before this week, so we will see how this awful week impacts that.

Truth be told there are a few factors that contribute to this week. The first is I am getting tired of my normal running route. It’s a 2.5 mile stretch that I run back and forth on, for 5 miles total. I am just getting bored of it and it doesn’t make me want to run more. So as a result my last 5 runs or so have been on the treadmill. I have written before about my love/ hate relationship with the treadmill, so I guess for the last week I was more on the love side. Another thing impacting my running is work. I am a technical recruiter for a global telecommunications company. I am 1 of 2 recruiters. For the last 6 months I have been doing my job and HR Generalist responsibilities because we lost our HR Generalist. And now about 2 weeks ago we lost our other recruiter. As a result I am currently doing 3 jobs at work. When you have that much on your plate the last thing you want to do is come home and run.

If this week did have a silver lining in it, it is that I went to New York City for the weekend. On Saturday I did a walking food tour, bike ride in central park and walked around Times Square. Since I have that fancy iPhone 6 it tracked my steps. In total on Saturday I walked 11.5 miles and rode about 6 miles on the bike. So while it may not have been running this weekend, I was still active.

So here I am, week 4 of Marathon training being the worst of all. I am not too worried, because it is still early, and I am on a 25 week plan. But it is good to acknowledge these kind of weeks so you can handle it before it makes a major impact. It’s Sunday night and I just finished my weekly meal prep. So I am going into another week with a menu full of healthy food. Now I just need to make sure I am putting feet to pavement.

Leave a Reply

