Weekly Fitness Recap

This week caps off my 3rd week of my Chicago Marathon training plan. To say it was an exciting week in running is an understatement. The major part of the week was surrounded around Sundays Broad Street 10 Mile Run. It is hands down BSR 8the best run in the city of Philadelphia, you can read my recap here. I had a blast running with 40,000+ runners and even PR’d from last years run by 7 minutes!

Outside of Broad Street, I also signed up for my first two races as a BibRave pro. What’s cool about these races is that they are two runs held on the same day; an 8 miler and a 5K. And even cooler than that the 8 miler is at midnight. I can’t say I have ever run that late (or early?) so I am interested to see what that looks like. And once I am done that race I’ll have about 6 hours until the 5K. Needless to say the day of these two races is going to be a whirlwind and a lot of fun. And to top it all off it will be the first races I run as a 30 year old (I turn 30 the week before the races). So I at least have a very memorable way to ring in the new decade.

Now onto my week:

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: Broad Street Run 10 Miler!

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 5 Mile Run

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 4 Mile Run

Friday: 30 Minute Cross Training

In total 19 miles running. I did take an extra rest day on Wednesday, but this had to do with dinner plans with my girlfriend and her grandmother. As someone who lost his grandparents I am happy to be there for her as she continues making memories with hers. A day of rest in May wont hurt me for a marathon in October, so you have to keep things in perspective.

Nutrition for the week:

Calorie Difference: -3,369

Weight: 262 Pounds (+1 Pound)

For the week I was under my calorie count by 3,369. Overall I am not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing. I know the bulk of that has to do with Thursday. On that day I kept food light and went out for a 4 mile run. As a result I was almost IMG_21771,200 calories under. I have also gotten pretty good with food prep. A few months ago I went on a 28 day meal plan that really helped me learn more about healthy eating. I am not on that plan now, but as a result I am a lot smarter about the type of meals I prepare. So far for the last few weeks it has been a lot of chicken, fish and red meat with vegetables and carbs.

Having said all that I am at a +1 pound difference between today’s weigh in and last weeks weigh in. I am not too worried about this, because I am only one week into all of this. But at the same time I do want to keep an eye on it. Mainly because a lot of my food tracking is Monday through Friday. I don’t track on the weekends. I don’t over indulge on the weekends, but at the same time I am a lot less strict on what I eat. My goal is to drop 30 pounds in time for Chicago, so if I don’t see a decrease in the next few weeks I may need to change my approach.

A great week overall and looking forward to next week where I finish the first full month of my Chicago Marathon training plan!

BSR 4

2 thoughts on “Weekly Fitness Recap

Leave a Reply

