Why I Blog

Recently I started reading “Marathon: The Ultimate Training Guide” by Hal Higdon. I am only a quarter of the way into the book, but I can already tell it will have a major impact on my training towards the Chicago Marathon.

While reading last night I read the following passage below. For those who prefer not to try and read the picture I will transcribe the text:

“Start writing a blog. Even if nobody reads the blog, your commitment to put words on paper (or hurl them into cyberspace) can help carry you through those tough days in August when the miles get long and the weather gets hot”
photo

For me I fully believe that is the reason I blog. In one of my very first posts on my blog I wrote the following: “This is not some sort of aspiring blog that I hope to parlay into a career one day. It’s a place where the average Joe type can come and realize he/ she is not alone.”

That sentence was written on August 4th 2013. It is about a year and a half later and the words are still true. No book deals have come my way. No company has hired me to write 3-5 posts a day and get paid for it. This is a site I come to every now and again to put down in words my thoughts at the time. And let’s face it, when you are running for long periods of times the thoughts will come to you like a flood.

That one sentence in his book sums up why blogging seems to be so popular in the running world. I cannot speak for everyone, but for me blogging is something I do to help me keep track of where I am, where I have been and where I am going. I enjoy looking back at some of my older posts, whether it was my first, second or third half marathon, my first triathlon or specific areas of my life where I was struggling and running was my outlet. It has helped me continue to build onto this running journey I started in 2013.

Leave a Reply

