1 Year Running Anniversary!

Today marks the 1 Year Anniversary where I decided to make running a regular part of my life. I have had a lot of fun in those past 365 days. There have been a lot of up’s and a lot of down’s. It started with the goal to run a half marathon. The summer last year started like any other summer. I went out for a few runs here and there. Nothing major. I had run maybe one or two 5K’s before I started last year. And in those two summers before that I would run one 5K and be done with it. Last summer I did my annual 5K, but decided it wouldn’t stop there. Shortly after the 5K I decided that I would run a Half Marathon. It was definitely a scary thought, but I am not one who scares easily.

So I printed out a plan and the analytical side of me said “if I follow each step on this plan I will accomplish my goal.” It was not easy. At the time I was dating someone who was not very supportive. She told me all of the reasons doing this was a bad idea. And when it got down to it the only reason she was so negative was because I was accomplishing something she wasn’t, so essentially being selfish. I didn’t let it stop me. It made me feel alone and like I was an idiot for even trying it. But I knew that I could do it. So I stuck to the plan and a few months later I had a medal around my neck that said I accomplished a half marathon.

Fast forward a year later and I have just about 10 5K’s, a 10 Miler, a 15K and a Duathlon  under my belt. And in the next 18 days I will accomplish another Half Marathon, Triathlon and one more 5K. I have never claimed to be a world class athlete, and this blog was never intended that way. But I decided a year ago to make this a part of my regular every day life and it has been amazing. I have made a lot of new connections in the running world, have so many great stories to tell, pictures from so many different places that I got to run in and have had so much fun along the way. And on top of all this I am almost at a sub 8 minute mile! If someone told me that a year ago I would laugh at them myself.

Lets see what the next year has in store for me…..

 

At the one year mark I am down 3 minutes per mile!!

At the one year mark I am down 3 minutes per mile!!

 

Leave a Reply

