Running…..It’s like riding a bike

My training program for the half marathon is down to a week and a half left. It’s getting so close and the nerves are starting to kick in. I’m getting closer to realizing I will soon be able to say I completed a half marathon. Nerve wrecking!

For the past 2 weeks I haven’t run. I took some time off in the first week because I developed a bone spur. It wasn’t too serious but caused a considerate amount of pain. I didn’t want that same pain on race day, so I decided to take it easy.

By the start of week 2 I developed a minor cold. I was stuffed up and my lungs couldn’t catch as much air as I would have liked.

So needless to say the past two weeks were not ideal for running. I can’t lie, part of me didn’t push myself as hard as I should have. None the less I was listening to my body and taking it easy. And ultimately it paid off. My foots healed completely and my sickness is all but gone. During those two weeks I did participate in a few spin classes, so I wasn’t a complete waste.

Tonight I was nervous. I felt like since I let so much time in between runs that I set myself back from all the hard work I’ve done so far. I have to run 13.1 miles in less than 2 weeks. Could I handle 3 miles? 4? Did I put myself too deep in a hole?

Well tonight I ran 6 miles. And the 6 miles felt great. It felt like I didn’t even miss a step. It was like riding a bike. And I was happy about that. It showed me that my time off was worth it to heal my body. I can tell I am fully prepared for the run. It will still be very hard. And I’m nervous as hell. But the time off was not as bad as expected. None the less I have to continue taking it one day at a time.

20130905-234831.jpg

Also on the run tonight I passed by a police speed radar. I found it funny because I wondered if it would register how fast I was running. Like that episode from “The Office” where Michael and Dwight use it to compare running speed. Well it turns out it does just that. I ran past it at 6 miles an hour. Look out Usain Bolt, I’m coming for you!!

20130905-235126.jpg

One thought on “Running…..It’s like riding a bike

  1. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t speed up whenever I pass a police speed radar… you know, just in case!! Love that episode of The Office. Also, the words “carbo load” always remind me of Michael Scott. Glad to hear getting back into it wasn’t as bad as you thought… good luck with the rest of your training!!

Leave a Reply

