Taking time off

So I’m at that point where I’ve taken some days off from running. Nothing serious. But last week I missed a running day. And this week I pushed my long run back by 2 days.

It feels like I’ve taken forever off. My last run was 5 days ago.

I’m no running expert so I can’t tell you if this is good or bad. But I am listening to my body.

Last week I developed a bone spur in my foot. It happened because my left shoe was tied too tight and I really pushed myself during a 5K.

I feel like I shouldn’t have taken the time off but I can tell a difference in my body. No pain, no soreness. I feel great.

For me it’s not about not being able to do the miles. I have faith I can do the 13.1. I just don’t want to fall behind in my training. None the less I can’t argue with my body. I’m not in mass amounts of pain. The bone spur is something I can run through. But I want my body to feel great for the run. I want to wake up and be prepared 110%. So I’m going to be back at the long run tomorrow.

That all being said I didn’t take off completely from the exercise. 2 days ago I visited the Body Cycle Studio in Philadelphia. It’s such a great facility. Some of the most up to date and advanced spinning bikes I’ve been on. And the instructors are intense! If you’re ever in the area check them out.

http://bodycyclestudio.com/

20130826-225307.jpg

20130826-225321.jpg

Leave a Reply

