Muscled through it……

Well I finally got the injury bug. Putting your body through training that it isn’t used to will eventually take its toll on you. Nothing major, but today I did 8 miles and it felt like I was running on a broken foot.

I don’t know what happened. But I have a baseball sized lump on the top of my left foot. Tonight is the first night where I have to take care of an injury.

20130819-234452.jpg

Tonight was my long run. 8 miles to be exact. By mile 1 my foot was on fire and my legs felt so bad that shin splints would have been a better pain to deal with.

By mile 3 I was ready to stop running and just walk back home. 3 mile run, 3 mile walk isn’t too bad right?

But I decided against it. I just pushed on. I wouldn’t let the way I was feeling stop me. And I just continued to run.

By mile 5 I was feeling better. Mile 6 the pain was almost gone. I was happy to say the least. I kept a slower pace than usual so that probably did a lot to help. But I was happy with myself because I ran the entire 8 miles.

I’m 5 miles away from my goal. And I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. It hasn’t been easy. It’s starting to become harder on my body. But I’m taking care of myself and taking it easy.

The running has been a lot of fun. It’s starting to get easier. Or maybe as the old saying goes, I’m getting stronger. I continue to stick to the “one day at a time plan” and everything’s working out just fine.

20130819-235525.jpg

Leave a Reply

