Halfway to the Half!

So tonight I reached the halfway point to my training program for the half marathon.

20130814-235458.jpg

I started this journey 4 and a half weeks ago. And it’s been a lot of fun so far. Some days good, some days bad. And the best part is that it has been going just as I planned.

I’m at 7 miles ran so far straight through. I feel great and I have no concern that the 13.1 miles will be attainable. Not easy. But not impossible.

It’s all about putting one foot in front of the other. I admit I was scared when I hung my training schedule up. At that point I had only run a max of 3 miles. I looked at this and asked “how in the world am I supposed to run any more than 3??”

Well then came 4, 5, 6 and now 7. And I feel awesome! I haven’t looked too far forward. I’ve just looked at what I needed to do that day. Wake up, cross off my goal, repeat. And it’s been awesome.

That’s what this whole things been about. You don’t need to be a fitness guru. Or a nutrition expert. All you have to do is put one foot in front of the other. And trust me you will get there.

I used to do everything I could to be healthy. Strict dieting, gym regiments. But nothing has worked quite like this has. And it just requires me waking up and pushing forward.

Now I want to know what’s next. I know it’s crazy to think but I’m already looking past the half. I’m not taking it for granted, but I do want something after this. I don’t know what that will be, but I am open to ideas from the fitness community. Maybe a warrior dash? Tough mudder? I’m open to suggestions!

Leave a Reply

