All you can do is run

Tonight’s training was by far the hardest since I started. Not the distance. The distance I’ve done over and over again. 4.5 miles to be exact.

What was tough about tonight is that it was the first time I just genuinely didn’t want to run. Not because I’ve lost the passion. I just was physically spent. My right quad felt on fire all day, and it had been a long day at work and I was just beat when I got home.

For the first time in a month I just didn’t want to do it. This whole time I’ve oddly enough have looked forward to my run nights. “Another day closer to the half marathon” I would tell myself. Not this time. Maybe I hit a wall. Maybe it’s all catching up to me. Whatever it was it just wasn’t my night.

But I went anyways.

And I think that’s what I am most happy about. Not that any of this has been easy, because trust me it has not. But I also feel like I haven’t hit that wall yet. Like every run day I looked forward to. But I knew eventually it would catch up to me.

Maybe this is a one time thing. But either way I told myself as always: take it one day at a time. Just put one foot in front of the other. And that’s what this journey has been about. I’m no fitness expert. Hell, you shouldn’t even read this looking for any sort of advice or tips. But I do know if you just put one foot in front of the other you will reach your goals.

And how fitting during tonight’s run a song came on and the lyrics stuck in my head all night about this subject.

“The good Lord gave us mountains, so we could learn how to climb”

20130808-234548.jpg

Leave a Reply

